Alternatives to ScenePartner: eight apps, what they cost, and what they ask for before you can use them
Eight apps people look at alongside ScenePartner, compared on price and on what each one wants from you before you can start. Every figure sourced and dated.
You are either thinking about leaving ScenePartner or thinking about starting with it, and either way the question you actually have is not about the voices. It is what each one costs you, in money and in setup, before you have rehearsed a single line.
That is the question this page answers. Eight alternatives, what they charge, and what each one wants from you first. ScenePartner is in the table too, as the thing you are comparing them against, so the table has nine rows.
What this page compares, and what it does not
Two rules decided who is here. An app is compared if people search for it alongside ScenePartner, and if its claims could be checked against its own public pages or its App Store listing on 7 September 2026. Everything in the table below comes from one of those two places, with the date it was read. Nothing comes from a directory, a review site, or anybody’s memory.
That second rule matters more than it looks: this corner is crowded, and a page like this could grow forever by adding names nobody has checked. The ones that did not make it are listed at the end, by name.
The thing that does not separate them: the voice
The obvious way to sort these apps would be by where the other character’s voice comes from. A generated voice on one side, a recording of a real person on the other. It does not work, because most of them do both.
ScenePartner “reads the other parts, or friends can record theirs”. ScriptRehearser plays back “any lines that you don’t record … using the voice synthesiser that came with your device”, and the lines you do record “using the recordings you have made”. Act On Cue offers “a library of realistic voices” and also lets you “generate audio from your own recordings”.
So for three of the nine rows, generated-or-recorded is a setting inside the app rather than a choice between apps. Sorting the field that way would put three products on both sides of the line.
What does separate them: price, and what you hand over to start
Sorted by what they cost, the nine rows fall into four groups that barely overlap. One is a marketplace for live human readers. Two are one-off purchases. Four run monthly subscriptions between roughly $10 and $15. And several have a free tier, where the number that matters is not the price but where the ceiling sits.
Disclosure: AuditionLead and Act On Cue are built by the same team as this site.
| App | Other character’s voice | Memorise mode | Price | Platforms | Account needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScenePartner | Generated voices, or a friend’s recording | Yes | Free, 3 auditions; $12.99/mo; $29.99/mo | Web, iOS | not stated |
| ScriptRehearser | Your device’s synthesiser, or your recordings | Yes | Free; $7.99/yr or $29.99 one-off | iOS, iPad, Mac, Android | No |
| coldRead | not stated | Yes | Free under 8 lines; from $6.99/mo | iPhone, iPad, M-series Mac | No |
| RehearseNow | Generated voices | not stated | $15/mo; $140/yr | not stated | not stated |
| Rehearsal Pro | Your recordings | Yes | $19.99 once | iOS, iPad, Mac | not stated |
| LineLearner | Recordings, yours or other people’s | Yes | $3.99 once | iOS, Mac, Android | not stated |
| WeAudition | A live person, over video | not stated | $149/yr or $14.99/mo, plus the reader’s fee | Web, mobile | Yes |
| AuditionLead | Your recordings | Yes | Free; no cap, but see the note below | Web, Chrome | No |
| Act On Cue | A voice library, or your recordings | Yes | Free tier; $10/mo or $99/yr; $20 top-up | Web, iOS | Yes |
Every cell above was read from the product’s own site or its App Store listing on 7 September 2026. Where a page does not say, the cell says not stated rather than guessing either way.
If you want a person on the other end
WeAudition is the only one of the nine rows that puts a human there. It is not an app that reads to you. It is a marketplace that connects you “to Providers via live video and chat”, which in practice means another actor on a video call.
It costs $149 a year, or $14.99 a month, and that is before the reader. Readers set their own rates: “some Readers are free, others have a fee”. So the total is a subscription plus a variable amount you agree with a person, which is a different shape of cost from everything else here. An account is required.
And if there is nobody to read with you at all
The other eight exist because of the case WeAudition cannot cover: it is eleven at night, the tape is due tomorrow, and there is no one to call. Doing a self tape without a reader is the ordinary condition rather than the emergency.
None of these apps is trying to replace a scene partner. They give you something to act against that arrives on cue and waits for you to finish, which is the part a silent room cannot do. If you have never had to shoot a self tape without a human reader, that is the thing to weigh before you pick one.
If you would rather pay once and be done
LineLearner is $3.99 and Rehearsal Pro is $19.99, both one-off App Store purchases with no in-app purchases shown on either listing.
Both are built around recordings rather than generated voices. LineLearner has you “record your script, and share it with others, who can record their lines”, and lets you “alter the pitch of the other characters so as to more easily tell their lines apart from your own”. Rehearsal Pro has you “record your lines and play them back, watching the script scroll by like a teleprompter”, with a blackout mode that reveals your lines as you go.
Both run on iOS and Mac. LineLearner is also on Android; Rehearsal Pro is not.
If a subscription is fine, the prices are close and the limits are not
Four of the nine rows charge monthly, ScenePartner among them, and the figures sit within a few dollars of each other: Act On Cue at $10, coldRead from $10.99, ScenePartner at $12.99, RehearseNow at $15.
What the money buys is where they differ. ScenePartner’s $12.99 tier covers ten auditions a month and its $29.99 tier covers a hundred. Act On Cue’s $10 includes a usage allowance rather than a count of scenes. RehearseNow states a price and no cap. coldRead sells unlimited use, at $10.99 a month, $8.99 on a three-month plan, or $6.99 a month on a year.
If you rehearse two scenes a month and if you rehearse twenty, these are not the same four products, and the monthly price is not what tells you so.
If you want free, the question is where the ceiling is
Four of the nine rows have a free tier, and the useful comparison is not that they exist but where each one stops.
ScenePartner’s free tier covers three auditions. coldRead’s covers scripts “under 8 lines”, with “no limitations” inside that. Act On Cue’s is “$0 forever” and includes a one-dollar credit, unlimited scripts, line learning and your own recorded reader voices, which is a credit ceiling rather than a scene count.
ScriptRehearser is listed as free with paid Pro features, and its pages do not say where the free tier stops. That is not the same as unlimited, and it is left as unknown here rather than counted as either.
AuditionLead needs a different kind of sentence, and it is worth being exact about why. Its pages say “free, with no signup” and “nothing to pay” - which state a price and a sign-up policy, and say nothing at all about a ceiling. Held to the standard applied to ScriptRehearser one paragraph up, our own cell would read not stated too.
So this one is not a reading of a page. We build AuditionLead, and we are telling you directly that there is no cap: no scene count, no minutes, no credit, nothing that runs out. Take it on that basis. It is the only claim on this page you cannot go and check against somebody’s public pages, which is exactly why it is flagged instead of being folded in beside the others.
What each one wants before you can start
Three of the nine rows say plainly that no account is needed. ScriptRehearser’s sign-in is for its forum: “sign in to post in the forum and set your preferences for this web site”. coldRead says “no internet connection, no email address, and no annoying signing-up process required”. AuditionLead says “no account, no download, no plugins, nothing to pay”.
Two say an account is required. WeAudition’s signup asks you to accept terms and confirm you are over 16. Act On Cue’s FAQ says “you need to sign up so you can create and manage your scenes”.
For the remaining four, ScenePartner, Rehearsal Pro, LineLearner and RehearseNow, the public pages do not say. ScenePartner’s pricing page says “no credit card required” for the free trial, which is a statement about payment and not about accounts. Treat those four as unknown, and check before you rely on it.
What could not be confirmed
coldRead’s site and its App Store listing do not say how the second character is voiced. The listing describes the app “responding to their cues just like a real reader would” and refers to “the recorded reader’s lines”, and neither phrase settles whether that is a generated voice or something you record yourself. On 7 September 2026 it could not be established in either direction from public sources, so the cell says not stated.
That is the state of the public record rather than an oversight, and worth knowing before you download it.
Also out there, not compared here
SceneStudy, SceneReaderAI, ActingPal, ScriptReadr, tableread, Scriptation, MangoScript, Linus and Scene Reader all exist and are not in the table above. They are absent because they were not checked against their own sources on 7 September 2026, not because anything here was judged against them.
If none of them fits, the fallback has not changed in fifty years. Ask another actor, and record what they give you.