Apps that run lines with you: eleven compared on price and on what they ask before you start
Eleven apps for rehearsing a scene on your own, compared on price and on what each asks before you can start. Every figure sourced and dated.
You are preparing a self tape alone, and the question you actually have is not about the voice reading the other part. It is what each app costs you, in money and in setup, before you have rehearsed a single line.
That is the question this page answers. Eleven apps for running lines on your own, what they charge, and what each one wants from you first.
What this page compares, and what it does not
Two rules decided who is here. An app is listed if actors compare it when they are choosing something to run lines with, and if its claims could be checked against its own public pages or its App Store listing on the dates given below. Everything in the table comes from one of those two places, with the date it was read. Nothing comes from a directory, a review site, or anybody’s memory.
That second rule matters more than it looks. This corner is crowded, and a page like this could grow forever by adding names nobody has checked. The ones that did not make it are listed at the end, by name.
The apps are listed alphabetically. There is no ranking here, and no single app that the others are measured against. They do different jobs at different prices, and which one is right depends on your situation, not on where it would sit in a league table.
The thing that does not separate them: the voice
The obvious way to sort these apps would be by where the other character’s voice comes from: a generated voice on one side, a recording of a real person on the other. It does not work, because most of them do both.
ScenePartner reads the other parts, or friends can record theirs. ScriptRehearser plays back any lines you do not record using your device’s voice synthesiser, and the lines you do record using your own recordings. ActingPal offers lifelike AI voices and also lets you use your own voice or import audio. So for several rows, generated-or-recorded is a setting inside the app rather than a choice between apps.
What separates them: price, and what you hand over to start
Here are all eleven, side by side.
| App | Other character’s voice | Memorise mode | Price | Platforms | Account needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ActingPal | Generated voices, or your recordings | Yes | Free 3-day trial; $9.99/mo | iOS, Android | not stated |
| Act On Cue | A voice library, or your recordings | Yes | Free tier; $10/mo or $99/yr; $20 top-up | Web, iOS | Yes |
| AuditionLead | Your recordings | Yes | Free; no cap, see the note below | Web, Chrome | No |
| coldRead | not stated | Yes | Free under 8 lines; from $6.99/mo | iPhone, iPad, M-series Mac | No |
| LineLearner | Recordings, yours or other people’s | Yes | $3.99 once | iOS, Mac, Android | not stated |
| Rafy | Generated voices | not stated | Free practice scenes; $14.99/mo, 20 scenes | iOS, Android, Web | not stated |
| Rehearsal Pro | Your recordings | Yes | $19.99 once | iOS, iPad, Mac | not stated |
| RehearseNow | Generated voices | not stated | $15/mo; $140/yr | not stated | not stated |
| ScenePartner | Generated voices, or a friend’s recording | Yes | Free, 3 auditions; $12.99/mo; $29.99/mo | Web, iOS | not stated |
| ScriptRehearser | Your device’s synthesiser, or your recordings | Yes | Free; $7.99/yr or $29.99 one-off | iOS, iPad, Mac, Android | No |
| WeAudition | A live person, over video | not stated | $149/yr or $14.99/mo, plus the reader’s fee | Web, mobile | Yes |
Every cell was read from the product’s own site or its App Store listing. The nine apps in the first version of this page were read on 7 September 2026; ActingPal and Rafy were added on 8 September 2026 from their App Store listings and their makers’ own pages. Where a page does not say, the cell reads not stated rather than guessing either way.
If you want a person on the other end
WeAudition is the only one of the eleven that puts a human there. It is not an app that reads to you. It is a marketplace that connects you to other actors over live video and chat.
It costs $149 a year, or $14.99 a month, and that is before the reader. Readers set their own rates: some are free, others have a fee. So the total is a subscription plus a variable amount you agree with a person, which is a different shape of cost from everything else here. An account is required.
And if there is nobody to read with you at all
The other ten exist because of the case WeAudition cannot cover: it is eleven at night, the tape is due tomorrow, and there is no one to call. Doing a self tape without a reader is the ordinary condition rather than the emergency.
None of these apps is trying to replace a scene partner. They give you something to act against that arrives on cue and waits for you to finish, which is the part a silent room cannot do.
If you would rather pay once and be done
LineLearner is $3.99 and Rehearsal Pro is $19.99, both one-off App Store purchases with no in-app purchases shown on either listing.
Both are built around recordings rather than generated voices. LineLearner has you record your script and share it with others, who record their lines, and lets you alter the pitch of the other characters so you can tell their lines from your own. Rehearsal Pro has you record your lines and play them back, watching the script scroll by like a teleprompter, with a blackout mode that reveals your lines as you go.
Both run on iOS and Mac. LineLearner is also on Android; Rehearsal Pro is not.
If a subscription is fine, the prices are close and the limits are not
Six of the eleven charge monthly, and the figures sit within a few dollars of each other: ActingPal at $9.99, Act On Cue at $10, coldRead from $6.99, ScenePartner at $12.99, Rafy at $14.99, RehearseNow at $15.
What the money buys is where they differ. ScenePartner’s $12.99 tier covers ten auditions a month and its $29.99 tier covers a hundred. Act On Cue’s $10 includes a usage allowance rather than a count of scenes. Rafy’s $14.99 covers twenty scenes a month, with unused credit rolling over. coldRead sells unlimited use, cheapest on a yearly plan. ActingPal states a monthly price against a page allowance; RehearseNow states a price and no cap.
If you rehearse two scenes a month and if you rehearse twenty, these are not the same products, and the monthly price is not what tells you so.
If you want free, the question is where the ceiling is
Several rows have a free tier, and the useful comparison is not that they exist but where each one stops.
ScenePartner’s free tier covers three auditions. coldRead’s covers scripts under eight lines, with no limits inside that. Act On Cue’s is free forever and includes a one-dollar credit, which is a credit ceiling rather than a scene count. Rafy’s free tier is its practice scenes only, not your own uploads. ActingPal offers a three-day trial rather than a standing free tier, which is a clock rather than a ceiling.
ScriptRehearser is listed as free with paid Pro features, and its pages do not say where the free tier stops. That is not the same as unlimited, and it is left as unknown here rather than counted as either.
AuditionLead needs a different kind of sentence, and it is fair to say why. This site is AuditionLead, so this is the one row not read off somebody else’s public page. Its pages say free, with no signup, and they do not state a ceiling. Held to the standard applied to everything else here, that cell would read not stated too. So we will say it plainly instead: there is no cap, no scene count, no minutes, no credit, nothing that runs out. It is the only claim on this page you cannot go and check for yourself, which is exactly why it is flagged rather than folded in beside the others.
What each one wants before you can start
Three rows say plainly that no account is needed. ScriptRehearser’s sign-in is only for its forum. coldRead says it needs no internet connection, no email address, and no signing-up. AuditionLead says no account, no download, nothing to pay.
Two say an account is required. WeAudition’s signup asks you to accept terms and confirm your age. Act On Cue’s FAQ says you need to sign up to create and manage your scenes.
For the rest, the public pages do not say. Treat those as unknown, and check before you rely on it.
What could not be confirmed
coldRead’s site and its App Store listing do not say how the second character is voiced, so that cell reads not stated. Two of the newer rows have gaps as well: Rafy’s own materials describe AI voices, but are not consistent about whether you can record the other lines yourself, or about whether it has a dedicated memorise mode, so both are left open here rather than settled in either direction.
That is the state of the public record rather than an oversight, and worth knowing before you download anything.
Also out there, not compared here
SceneStudy, SceneReaderAI, ScriptReadr, tableread, Scriptation, MangoScript, Linus and Scene Reader all exist and are not in the table above. They are absent because they were not checked against their own sources, not because anything here was judged against them.
If none of these fits, the fallback has not changed in fifty years. Ask another actor, and record what they give you.